About Us

In the beginning…

The University of Lagos Alumni Association came into existence in 1969, four (4) years after the first 41 graduates were turned out of the University that was established in 1962.

The idea of the Alumni Association was conceived when it was considered necessary to create an organization that would embrace different generations of the University. The body was expected to play a dominant role in the life of the University by reflecting the views of its graduates.

The Alumni Association was formally launched on the 16th January, 1970 by the Pro-Chancellor, late Justice J. I. C. Taylor with the late Justice J. S. Mariere, then Chancellor of the University as the Chairman of the occasion. At that epoch making event, Mr. Kayode Anjorin, a 1966 graduate of Business Administration assumed office as the first National President of the Association.

To enhance the smooth administration of the Association, the University established the Alumni Relations Unit in the office of the Vice Chancellor with an alumnus as the administrative officer whose mandate was to establish and maintain an enduring link between the University and its graduates, compiling an Alumni list and publishing a newsletter. In recent years, the University has merged the Alumni Relations Unit with the Endowment Unit forming the Office of Advancement under the global dispensation of developmental activities.

Over the years, a lot of positive developments have been recorded in the management and administration of the Association which has since taken over the publication of the magazine “UNILAG ALUMNI” and the newsletter “THE GRADUATE”. The Association has also secured a permanent seat on the University’s Governing Council.

The seat is presently occupied by the National President of the association. Indeed, the University of Lagos Alumni Association has made significant progress under the able leadership of the following National Presidents:

Mr. Kayode Anjorin 1969 -1973
Late Chief Akintunde Asalu       1973 -1978
Senator Dipo Odujinrin               1978-1980
Dr. M.Y.I. Salami 1980-1982
Mr. Gbolahan Olufon 1982 -1984
Late Mr. F. B. Oyedeji 1984 -1988
Late Chief Rufus Giwa 1988-1992
Prince Yemi Adefulu 1992-1996
Chief Michael Olawale-Cole, FNIM 1996 -2000
Chief L.E.A. Aimiuwu, OON 2000 -2004
Mr. AdebowaleThompson, FNIM 2004-2008
Professor Olaide Abass, OON 2008-2013
The Olor’ogun Dr. Sonny Kuku, OFR,FAS 2013 to date

During their tenure and with the active support and encouragement of the University Administration, the Association established Branches and Chapters in various states of the Federation and the FCT, Abuja. Many programmes, including the Alumni Reunion, Annual Lecture series, and Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony are organized regularly by the Association as part of its activities to encourage interaction among members and promote national discourse.

The Association is not only interested in the academic progress of the University; it also recognizes the need to assist in its physical development. To this end, the Association embarked on the building of the Post Graduate Hall of residence in the University some years ago. Although, hampered by lack of fund, the first phase attracted a distinguished Alumnus Dr. Erastus Akingbola who donated a four-storey building hostel to the University. Other donors include Dr. D.K. Olukoya (N150 Million for a Research Laboratory), The Sahara Energy Group (N300 Million – Charity Donation), Dr. M. I. Okoro (N5 Million for Chair Endowment).

Notable Alumni and Staff

Vice Chancellors

Professor Rahmon Ade Bello: 2012- date
Professor Babatunde Adetokunbo Sofoluwe : 2010-2012
Professor Tolu Olukayode Odugbemi: 2007-2010
Professor Oyewusi Ibidapo Obe: Ag, 2000-2002; 2002-2007
Professor Jelili Adebisi Omotola: 1995-2000
Professor Nurudeen Oladapo Alao: 1988-1995
Professor Akinpelu Oludele Adesola: 1981-1988
Professor Babatunde Kwaku Adadevoh: 1978-1980
Professor Jacob F. Adeniyi Ajayi: 1972-1978
Professor Saburi Biobaku: 1965-1971
Professor Eni Njoku: 1962-1965

Notable alumni

Amongst the alumni of the University of Lagos, Akoka and other institutions that fall under that banner are:

Yemi Osinbajo, current Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria
Rilwan Akiolu, current Oba of Lagos
Bolanle Austen-Peters, lawyer/businesswoman
Ukwuegbu Anthony Chijioke, Investor
Wande Abimbola, Yoruba professor
Wale Adenuga, publisher/film producer
Babatunde Ogunnaike, engineering professor[28]
Wale Babalakin, lawyer/businessman
Fabian Ajogwu, lawyer
Francis Agu, actor
Funke Akindele, actress
Omowunmi Akinnifesi, public relations consultant, former MBGN
IllRymz, musician/television personality
Bisi Alimi, gay rights activist[29]
Daré Art-Aladé, singer
Adewale Ayuba, singer
Regina Askia, registered nurse/actress, former Miss Unilag
Philip Begho, writer
Funsho Williams, civil servant
Stella Damasus, actress
Denrele, television presenter
Akin Babalola Kamar Odunsi, politician
Ufuoma Ejenobor, model/actress
Fidelis Oditah, lawyer
Grace Ekpiwhre, former minister
Eldee, rapper
Linda Ikeji, Ex-Model and Blogger
Obiageli Ezekwesili, accountant
Kayode Fayemi, former Ekiti governor
Kate Henshaw, actress
Matilda Kerry, doctor, former MBGN
Oliver Mbamara, lawyer
Richard Mofe Damijo, actor
Tony Momoh, lawyer
Genevieve Nnaji, actress
Teju Babyface, comedian
Mary Akpobome, banker
Ramsey Nouah, actor
Chinenye Ochuba, former MBGN
Bayo Ojo, lawyer
Ikedi Ohakim, former Imo governor
Afolabi Olabimtan, writer
Dele Olojede, journalist [30]
Simbo Olorunfemi, writer/television producer
Mike Omoighe, artist
Helen Ovbiagele, writer
Joke Silva, actress
Ganiyu Solomon, politician
Ayo Sogunro, writer, satirist and lawyer
Farida Mzamber Waziri, EFCC chairman
Kunlé Adeyemi, architect[31]
Tony Elumelu, economist
Adetokunbo Kayode, former minister
Helen Paul, comedienne
Chude Jideonwo, journalist
Koffi Idowu Nuel, Comedian
Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, current Gombe governor,
Akinwunmi Ambode, Former Accountant-General of Lagos State and Current Governor of Lagos State